3-27-2013 Day 81 At Sea

Slept until 7 a.m. today so had a later start on our walk around the deck.  And we can feel very safe as you can see with this razor P1130416wire surrounding the entire 3rd floor (the first level pirates would be able to enter the ship.)  In addition, we have huge fire hoses all laid out as well as the noise blasters that would destroy an eardrum if deployed. 

Another Good Morning Amsterdam with three of the players from the Amsterdam band.  It was fun to hear how they got their starts in music and why they like playing on ships.

Then I wasted almost an hour when I went to George Geary’s demo – it was on pasta sauces!  Once again, it took him about 10 min. to make two (both using canned tomatoes!)  So, once again, P1130443he talked almost the whole time telling the same stories!  I mainly went because I like to get my picture taken with the guest chef I cook with, but forgot to do it when I was in the class with him – so did it today instead. I think the next time, I’ll just pick up the recipe cards (if they are decent!)

Enjoyed the Mongolian cookout on Lido deck with Doug.  It was particularly good this time. 

While Doug read and relaxed and played on the computer – totally enjoying his day – I tried duplicate again.  I’m beginning to wonder why I keep repeating things I’m not enjoying as much as I used to!  Well, it wasn’t so bad today actually even though we came in 5th this time.  We would have had a higher score had we not underbid two small slams.  Only had one bad experience with one jerky man.  I like his wife, but had never played with them before, so I had no idea who he was or what he was like.  He made a huge mistake which would have resulted in his going down (vulnerable) I realized later, but I knew it was not what he meant to do, so I told him he could just play on.  He never said a word – just continued to be a grumpy jerk.  So, at the end, I just looked at him and said, “Martin, a thank you would have been nice for my letting you make your game instead of going down.”  He was such a jerk, he didn’t say a word.  I’m just glad I’m not the one married to him. 

Had dinner but skipped the show.  Got our snorkel gear together for our arrival in the Seychelles tomorrow.  Looking forward to finally getting to this destination!

Leave a Reply

