3-16-2013 Day 70 At sea

Today was somewhat of an Asian day at sea.  After Good Morning Amsterdam, I went to Barbara’s lecture about what to see and do in our two upcoming ports – Langkawi, Malaysia and Phuket, Thailand.  What interesting days we have ahead of us!

The highlight of the day was my cooking class with Naomi Kakiuchi, the guest chef on board for about a week.  I learned a lotP1110078 about Asian cooking – but probably the most important is this – I won’t be making much of this at home.  It is so labor intensive and the ingredients can only be found in specialty Asian markets, for the most part.  I’m glad Asian food is relatively inexpensive so I can eat it in a good restaurant!  But it was fun to just watch and help with the preparations for lunch. [Actually, since my last cooking classes in 2010, the rules have changed.  We can no longer eat what we actually make in the kitchen.  It is all cooked ahead for us by the kitchen staff – we just make it and it either gets thrown out or a desperate staff person eats it!]

The menu we prepared was the following:  Spring Rolls, Coconut Curry Noodle Soup, Green Vegetable Curry, Golden Jasmine Rice, P1110075and for dessert Black Sticky Rice with Mango.  Our drink was made with black jelly, palm seed, jack fruit P1110072and Pandan syrup.  I didn’t like the drink, but the rest was very good.  The only thing I would consider making were the spring rolls.  I didn’t include a picture of the soup or drink. 

By the time we finished, it was after 1:30 p.m.  I had cancelled bridge because I wasn’t sure I’d be finished in time . . sure glad I did.  One lady who did not change it had to leave before we were even served our lunch . . and for a game of bridge!!!P1110082

In keeping with the Asian theme, our ship florists have made some outstanding arrangements.  Here are just twP1110083o using bamboo as the base.  They are simple but elegant, in my opinion.  It’s a treat to walk around the ship observing the new arrangements (which they change about every week.)

We moved our ship clocks forward an hour at 2 p.m. so we lost an hour today – the first time we’ve done that.  We usually keep getting hours back.  I think it all had to do with our Vietnam stop. 

After dinner I went to the movies – Anna Karenina.  Left about half way through.  Had seen a version of it before and found myself nodding off in the middle.  Was happier back in our cabin reading my book. 

 

Leave a Reply

